Buying guide
Best Indoor Hydroponic Gardens: Countertop Systems Compared by Pods, Light and Tank
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. How we choose products.
Best Overall: LetPot LPH-SE 12-Pod Smart Garden Check price on Amazon
On this page
The best indoor hydroponic gardens put a water reservoir, a grow light and a timer in one countertop unit, so you can grow herbs and salad leaves in a kitchen with no window light and no soil. What separates them is how many plants they hold, how tall those plants can get under the light, how often you refill the tank, and whether you are tied to the maker's seed pods.
This guide compares six indoor hydroponic systems sold on Amazon US, from a three-pod wick garden to a sixteen-pod unit with an 8 liter tank. We compared the makers' published specifications rather than running our own grow trials. If you are still deciding between a countertop unit, a tower, a DIY build or a fish-powered system, the last sections help you choose.
Best Overall
LetPot LPH-SE 12-Pod Smart Garden
Twelve plant sites, a 24 W light on an arm that extends to 30 inches, a 5.5 liter tank with a pump, app control of the light schedule, and plain sponges and A and B nutrients instead of proprietary pods.
-
Best compact herb garden
Six pods under a 20 W LED with an automatic timer, for plants up to 12 inches tall, in a small countertop footprint.
-
Simplest, no pump
Wicks draw water to three pods with nutrients built in, so there is no pump, no noise and no fertilizer to mix.
How to Choose an Indoor Hydroponic Garden
Every countertop system has the same parts: a reservoir, a deck with plant sites, a light on an arm and a controller. Five specifications decide which one suits you.
Number of Pods
Count how many herbs or salad plants you actually use. Six basil, parsley and chive plants keep a kitchen in fresh herbs; twelve to sixteen sites start to supply salad leaves. More pods also means more light needed and a bigger tank.
Grow Light Wattage and Height
The light replaces the sun, so it decides what will grow. The picks here run from 20 W to 40 W. Height matters as much as watts: AeroGarden lists the Harvest for plants up to 12 inches tall and the Bounty for plants up to 24 inches, while LetPot's light arm extends to 30 inches. Leafy greens and herbs are happy under a low lamp. Fruiting plants need the taller units.
Tank Size and Refill Interval
Small reservoirs need topping up more often, especially when plants are large. Tank sizes on this page run from 4.5 liters (iDOO) to 8 liters (Growell). A low-water reminder, which AeroGarden and LetPot include, saves plants when you forget.
Pump or Wick
Most units circulate water with a small pump to keep oxygen at the roots. Click & Grow uses wicks instead, so there is no pump and no noise. Pump systems handle more plants; wick systems are quieter and have fewer parts to clean.
Seed Pods or Open Sponges
Pre-seeded pods make the first harvest easy and lock you into the maker's refills. Open systems ship with empty sponges and baskets: you pick any seed and use any hydroponic nutrient, which is cheaper over time. AeroGarden also sells Grow Anything kits with empty pods for your own seeds.
Best Indoor Hydroponic Gardens Compared
Picks are ordered by how well they serve a typical home kitchen, not by price. All specifications are from the makers' Amazon listings; where a listing does not give a figure, the table says so.
| Product | LetPot LPH-SE Best Overall | AeroGarden Harvest Compact | Click & Grow 3 No pump | iDOO 12 Pods With fan | Growell 16 Pods Most pods | AeroGarden Bounty Tallest plants |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Product | | | | | | |
| Plant sites | 12 | 6 | 3 | 12 | 16 | 9 |
| Grow light | 24 W | 20 W | LED, watts not stated | 22 W | 28 W | 40 W |
| Max height | Light arm to 30 in | Plants to 12 in | Lamp extends | Plants to about 11 in | 15.4 in light height | Plants to 24 in |
| Tank | 5.5 L | Not stated | Lasts 2 to 3 weeks | 4.5 L | 8 L | Not stated |
| Water movement | Pump | Not stated | Wicks, no pump | Pump and fan | Pump, every 30 min | Not stated |
| Seeds | Open sponges | Seed pod kit | Pre-filled pods | Germination kit | Open sponges | Seed pod kit |
| Price tier | $$ | $ | $$ | $$ | $ | $$ |
| Buy | Check price on Amazon | Check price on Amazon | Check price on Amazon | Check price on Amazon | Check price on Amazon | Check price on Amazon |
Best Overall
LetPot LPH-SE
- Plant sites
- 12
- Grow light
- 24 W
- Max height
- Light arm to 30 in
Show specifications
- Tank
- 5.5 L
- Water movement
- Pump
- Seeds
- Open sponges
- Price tier
- $$
Compact
AeroGarden Harvest
- Plant sites
- 6
- Grow light
- 20 W
- Max height
- Plants to 12 in
Show specifications
- Tank
- Not stated
- Water movement
- Not stated
- Seeds
- Seed pod kit
- Price tier
- $
No pump
Click & Grow 3
- Plant sites
- 3
- Grow light
- LED, watts not stated
- Max height
- Lamp extends
Show specifications
- Tank
- Lasts 2 to 3 weeks
- Water movement
- Wicks, no pump
- Seeds
- Pre-filled pods
- Price tier
- $$
With fan
iDOO 12 Pods
- Plant sites
- 12
- Grow light
- 22 W
- Max height
- Plants to about 11 in
Show specifications
- Tank
- 4.5 L
- Water movement
- Pump and fan
- Seeds
- Germination kit
- Price tier
- $$
Most pods
Growell 16 Pods
- Plant sites
- 16
- Grow light
- 28 W
- Max height
- 15.4 in light height
Show specifications
- Tank
- 8 L
- Water movement
- Pump, every 30 min
- Seeds
- Open sponges
- Price tier
- $
Tallest plants
AeroGarden Bounty
- Plant sites
- 9
- Grow light
- 40 W
- Max height
- Plants to 24 in
Show specifications
- Tank
- Not stated
- Water movement
- Not stated
- Seeds
- Seed pod kit
- Price tier
- $$
Indoor Hydroponic Garden Reviews
LetPot LPH-SE 12-Pod Smart Garden (Best Overall)
LetPot's LPH-SE holds 12 plants over a 5.5 liter tank with a pump, under a 24 W full-spectrum LED. The app lets you set the light schedule anywhere from 0 to 24 hours, choose between a growth mode and a bloom mode, and get a low-water reminder over WiFi. The light arm adjusts up to 30 inches and the body is stainless steel over a resin inner wall. In the box are 12 planting cups with sponges, baskets and covers, plus A and B nutrients.
The reason it ranks first is flexibility. Twelve sites cover a kitchen's herbs with room for lettuce, the tall arm leaves headroom as plants grow, and plain sponges mean you can sow any seed and buy any hydroponic nutrient later. If you do not want an app, the timer still runs on its own.
- ✅ 12 sites and a light arm that rises to 30 inches
- ✅ Open sponges and baskets, no pod lock-in
- ✅ Low-water reminder and app schedule
- ❌ WiFi setup adds a step for people who want plug and play
AeroGarden Harvest (Best Compact Herb Garden)
The Harvest is the countertop garden most people have seen. AeroGarden lists room for 6 plants up to 12 inches tall, a 20 W full-spectrum LED with an automatic on and off timer, and a touch control panel that reminds you when to add water and plant food. It ships with the light, the power adapter, a 3 oz bottle of liquid plant food and a seed pod kit.
It is the right size for a kitchen herb supply and nothing more ambitious. Scotts Miracle-Gro, which owns the brand, still sells AeroGarden gardens and seed pod kits on its own store, and AeroGarden's Grow Anything kits let you start your own seeds in empty pods.
- ✅ Compact and simple, with water and food reminders
- ✅ Plant food and seed pods in the box
- ❌ Six sites and a 12 inch height limit
- ❌ Pre-seeded refills are a running cost
Click & Grow Smart Garden 3 (Simplest, No Pump)
Click & Grow takes the opposite approach to everyone else here. There is no pump: wicks draw water to each pod, which already contains its nutrients, so you only add water. The maker says a full tank lasts about 2 to 3 weeks, the LED runs 16 hours on and 8 off by itself, and the lamp extends as plants grow. Three basil pods are included, basil reaches full size in 1 to 2 months, and a pod lasts 2 to 3 months, according to the listing.
It is the least work of any garden on this page and the quietest. The trade-off is scale and cost per plant: three pods, and refills that come from Click & Grow.
- ✅ No pump, no noise, no fertilizer to mix
- ✅ Longest refill interval in this guide
- ❌ Only three plants
- ❌ Tied to the maker's pods
iDOO 12-Pod Hydroponic Garden (With a Built-In Fan)
iDOO's 12-pod unit has a 22 W LED with a vegetables mode and a flower and fruit mode, a low-noise pump that aerates the water, and a fan that runs at timed intervals to move air over the plants and spread pollen. The independent 4.5 liter tank has a viewing window, and iDOO says it supports plants for 1 to 2 weeks in the growth period. The light rises for plants up to about 11 inches.
The fan is the unusual feature. Moving air helps flowering plants set fruit and reduces the still, humid air that leaves stay wet in. The small tank means more frequent refills once the plants are big.
- ✅ Fan for air movement and pollination
- ✅ Two light modes
- ❌ 4.5 liter tank needs frequent top-ups
- ❌ Height limit of about 11 inches
Growell 16-Pod Hydroponic Garden (Most Plant Sites)
Growell fits 16 plants over an 8 liter tank, the largest of any pick here. The 28 W LED has vegetable, flower and fruit, and herb modes, and two timer options: 16 hours on, or a 22 hour mode. A pump the maker rates at under 40 decibels circulates the water every 30 minutes, and the light adjusts to 15.4 inches. The kit includes A and B plant food, 16 sponges, baskets, domes and labels, and spare hole covers.
For salad leaves rather than a few herbs, this is the capacity pick. Sixteen sites under one 28 W lamp is a lot of plants per watt, so space fast growers and slow growers sensibly and harvest outer leaves often.
- ✅ 16 sites and the biggest tank
- ✅ Open sponges, nutrients included
- ❌ Light height lower than the tallest units
AeroGarden Bounty (Best for Taller Plants)
The Bounty is AeroGarden's larger model: 9 plants, up to 24 inches tall, under a 40 W LED, the most powerful light in this guide. It is WiFi enabled and Alexa compatible, with a three-step water level indicator and reminders for water and liquid plant food. It ships with a seed pod kit, plant food, a quick start guide and a 6 inch trellis.
Choose it if you want to try cherry tomatoes, peppers or other fruiting plants indoors, which need both the height and the light. For herbs alone, a smaller unit does the same job.
- ✅ 24 inch growing height and a 40 W light
- ✅ Trellis for vining plants
- ❌ Fewer sites than the 12 and 16 pod units
- ❌ Pre-seeded refills are a running cost
Which Indoor Hydroponic Garden Should You Buy?
For a Kitchen Herb Supply
The AeroGarden Harvest or the Click & Grow Smart Garden 3. The Harvest grows six herbs; the Click & Grow grows three with almost no upkeep.
For Herbs and Salad Leaves
The LetPot LPH-SE for flexibility, or the Growell 16 Pods for the most plants and the biggest tank. Our guide to growing hydroponic lettuce covers spacing and harvest.
For Tomatoes, Peppers and Taller Plants
The AeroGarden Bounty, for its 24 inch height and 40 W light. Strawberries also do well in tall units; see hydroponic strawberries.
For Growing From Your Own Seed
An open-sponge unit: LetPot, iDOO or Growell. You can sow any seed and switch to any nutrient brand without buying proprietary refills.
Running an Indoor Hydroponic Garden
Setup and the First Weeks
Fill the tank with clean water, add the nutrient dose the maker gives for a new tank, seat the pods or sponges with seeds, and fit the germination domes if the kit has them. Remove the domes once the seedlings touch them. Raise the light a notch at a time so it stays a few inches above the tallest leaves.
Water and Nutrients
Top up with plain water when the reminder comes on, and add nutrients on the schedule in the manual. If you want to check strength, a TDS or EC pen tells you whether the solution is drifting; see our best TDS meters. Every few weeks, empty and rinse the tank so roots and residue do not build up.
What It Costs to Run
Lights are the main power draw. As an example, a 24 W light on 16 hours a day uses about 0.38 kWh a day, roughly 12 kWh a month, which is a little over 2 dollars at the US Energy Information Administration's August 2026 average residential rate of 18.16 cents per kWh. A 40 W light on the same schedule uses about 19 kWh a month. The arithmetic is ours; nutrients and seed refills are the other running costs.
Countertop Garden, Tower, DIY or Aquaponics?
Hydroponic Towers
If you have floor space or a sunny balcony and want dozens of plants, a vertical tower holds far more than any countertop unit. Compare them in our best hydroponic tower gardens guide.
Build Your Own
A Kratky jar or a small DIY hydroponic system costs less than any unit here, but you supply the light and timer yourself. Our hydroponics for beginners guide compares the system types.
Let Fish Feed the Plants
Every garden on this page needs bottled nutrients. An aquaponics desk kit uses fish waste instead, with a small aquarium under the grow tray. See our aquaponics kits and aquaponics vs hydroponics comparison.
Indoor Hydroponic Garden FAQ
Related: hydroponic towers, hydroponic nutrients, hydroponics for beginners and aquaponics kits.
Grow along with us
New guides and seasonal tips for fish, plants and DIY builds, about once a month.